Dzialynski, Delinski, Ehrlich, Herzog Family History Bible Pages

This Old and New Testament bible was purchased from an online reseller.  It’s covers have fallen off and many pages have separated from the binding.    Yet, inside is the gift of a hand written family history.  Most is in English, but some names are reprinted in what looks to be Hebrew, reflecting the Jewish heritage of many in the family.

It begins with the births Ida Erlich born in Prussia in 1834 and Philip Dzialynski born in Poland in 1833.  The family moves to Florida and later some move to Georgia.

Want to help?  If you copy the bible pages, please consider transcribing a page or two and submitting the transcriptions here.  It will help other family members search the contents!  Go to Catch the GG Spirit

UPDATE:  We’ve been so fortunate to have contributions by J. Bunch!  He’s provided transcriptions, photographs, and a GED.Com file for the family! 

Transcription Dzialynski Family Bible

Dzialynski Family Bible Transcriptions – Marriages

 Dzialynski Family Bible – Deaths

History of the Dzialynski Family

Thank you JB!!   

JB has question for other family historians.  He’s looking to clarify the following entries in the history: 

The following are the names of individual on the sheets that I have no information on or have no concrete documentation to support who they are related to:
 
Ralph W. Cohen – I am not 100% who he is related to but have a pretty good idea. 
Auguste Leiser – I have no idea who this person this and how he/she is related to the family.
 Isaac Ehrlich & Henrietta Kauffman – I have a good idea how they are connected to the family but have no solid documentation to prove it.
 Rudolph Ehrlich & Hanchen Dzialynski – I have good idea how they are connected to the family but no solid documentation to prove it.
 H. Berlack & Hanchen Ehrlich – I have good idea how they are connected to the family but no solid documentation to prove it.
 Maurice R. Cohen & Ida Williams – I have good idea how they are connected to the family but no solid documentation to prove it.

Now, on to the gallery

 

To contact us about this material email us here:GoodWill Genealogists (info@goodwillgenealogists.com)

Gallery | This entry was posted in Carter Collection, Family Page, Photographs, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Dzialynski, Delinski, Ehrlich, Herzog Family History Bible Pages

  1. Henry Herz says:

    I am also a Dzialynski descendant, and have a lot of genealogical material. I would love to compare notes with Joseph Bunch, and answer some of his questions above. Can you put me in touch with him? Thanks.

  2. Joseph Bunch says:

    Last fall I was contacted by Goodwill Genealogist about contributing to a website they were putting together. They informed me that they had in their possession a bible containing family information and thought I might be related to the family. They discovered this through some genealogy I had posted on ancestry.com. The sent me photographs of the information from the bible. When I viewed the information, I can’t tell you how excited I was. It was indeed my family. It was amazing to learn that such documents existed and that they were in relatively good condition. Well, this past week my excitement about just learning a family bible was out there and seeing digital images of the information contained in it was eclipsed by the experience of seeing the bible in person and holding it in my hands. To hold a 164 year old document in my hand and know that at one point, my Great Great Grandfather once held the same document was truly an amazing experience. It was the second time in the 20+ years I have been doing genealogy research to have such an experience. I am grateful to the folks at Goodwill Genealogists for what they are doing to ensure others can have similar experiences. Thank you.

  3. Joseph Bunch says:

    I forgot to mention. I do have some photographs of descendants of this family and would be happy share.

    • Joseph, if you click on the Contribute Tab, there’s a form you can complete to send along photos. Thank you!

      • Joseph Bunch says:

        Thanks. Let me know if you would like me to forward digital copies of the photos I have and where to send them. I don’t know if this is something you would like to post or not. Only one of the photos is of someone listed on the Bible pages. It’s a picture of George Isaac P. Dzialynski. He is a son of Philip Dzialnski. His name is listed on the page of Births.

        • It would be wonderful to have even one photo! Do you think a gedcom file for just what is in the bible would be too much to ask? That is, if you have it in a tree? I think if I uploaded it, and tagged it, others could search it. This could be a spot for family to find one another….What do you think? I think you can submit things to the blog via the form on the on Contribute page, or if you still have my email address from when I sent you the files earlier this year, you could use that. I’m really appreciative!

    • Joseph has given generously donated transcriptions of several pages, photographs and a gedcom file. In addition, he has some questions for other family members. He’d like clarification (additional documentation) for the following people:
      JB has question for other family historians. He’s looking to clarify the following entries in the history:

      The following are the names of individual on the sheets that I have no information on or have no concrete documentation to support who they are related to:

      Ralph W. Cohen –
      Auguste Leiser –
      Isaac Ehrlich & Henrietta Kauffman –
      Rudolph Ehrlich & Hanchen Dzialynski
      H. Berlack & Hanchen Ehrlich Maurice R. Cohen & Ida Williams

      Let’s give him a hand!

  4. Joseph Bunch says:

    I received a copy of these Bible pages and they are excellent. While much of the information in the pages I already knew, there was some new information. One of the most fascinating things about the pages was being to deduce which family member mostly likely began tracking this information. It appears Philip Dziakynski began recording this information mostly in the 1850’s after immigrating to the United States. If anyone needs information on this family, I am happy to share.

    • Hi Joseph! I’m so happy you joined us here! I’ve recently heard from another family member, so I hope they’ll come here to share and perhaps connect with you.

      Philip D. did a great thing keeping the family history in this bible. Good sleuthing on your part to figure who it was.

Leave a Reply

